just another day in parent-dise…

January 3, 2009

Early Morning Adventure…

Filed under: AJ,Carson,Chris the hubby,family,life,random,Ryan — Kaela Green @ 5:48 am
Tags: ,

Would you panic if you woke up to this?

img_0234

It’s 5:15am. 

Chris:  Don’t panic, but the house next door is on fire and we need to evacuate.

That’s really all I remember because I was woken out of dead sleep.  Chris said, and these are his exact words, that I got my crying on and said, “Oh, is our house is going to burn down?”  I, however, remember being disoriented and asking him if I need to grab the scrapbooks, the one thing I’d grab after my family was safe.  I was so confused.

I had the baby and he got the other two and we headed to the mom van (that’s what our 4 and 3 yr old call the super sweet ride I drive).  Although, there was really no where to go because in our small cul-de-sac there were two fire trucks and two police cars blocking the exit.  So we drove to the other side and waited.  I fed the baby and the boys watched in pure excitement.  We didn’t see any flames, but there was smoke pouring out of the door.  Everyone was safe even their cat.  It was really cool to see the firefighter hand him over to our relieved neighboor.  Two people were sent to the hospital and treated for smoke inhalation.  The captain said it was a small fire that started and was contained in the garage, but we still don’t know what caused it. 

There were a total of four firetrucks and three police cars.  It was pretty scary being that close to what could have been a huge disaster.  Thank goodness for smoke detectors.  Make sure your batteries have been swapped out recently.  Here are some more pics.  They aren’t great because it was cold outside and I didn’t want to mess with finding the correct settings on my camera, but you can see most of it pretty well.

1 Comment »

  1. Praise God everyone is safe. Nothing more important than that. lol mag

    Comment by MAG — January 4, 2009 @ 11:46 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

